low GPA(STEM)/decent LSAT/extensive job experience Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
thechemist

New

low GPA(STEM)/decent LSAT/extensive job experience

Post by thechemist » Wed Sep 09, 2020 12:25 pm

Hi everyone!

So I graduated from a reputed university with a 2.183 GPA in chemistry. Yes, it's horrible. No, there weren't any mitigating circumstances besides not being good at math, being too anxious to ask for help from professors, and being too scared to ask my parents to let me switch to humanities where I always got A's and B's. Basically I entered the school of engineering in 2009 and got dismissed for poor academic standing after my fourth semester. After a year at community college, my university reinstated me. I switched my major from biomedical engineering to chemistry and this was due to a conversation with my parents where we decided that a low chemistry GPA still offered job opportunities but a decent history gpa (my minor where I got all A's) wouldn't offer as much, especially since at the time of graduating I had no intention of continuing my education as I was low on confidence.