New York vs. California Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Marlene Stanger

New

New York vs. California

Post by Marlene Stanger » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:23 pm

By way of brief introduction, I’m a foreign trained attorney who recently took the Feb 2019 CA bar exam for the 1st time. I’ve been practicing law for 6 years. While work in my practice area has been drying up in my native jurisdiction, opportunities in NY and CA abound— which is why I‘m seeking to move.

In preparation for the CA exam I stopped working and studied full time for months. I know that I could not have tried any harder in my preparation. In spite of my efforts, the CA bar exam is astonishingly difficult (gross understatement), and while I’m hopping for the best, I’m strategizing in the event that I do not receive a passing score.

In the event that I do not pass, I’m contemplating taking the NY Bar exam instead of retaking CA. My MBE practice scores on Themis leading up to the exam were quite high, which, of course, would reap greater rewards in NY. Also, there are just too many variables and uncertainties with the marking scheme in CA. I’ve read that several people on this message board have taken the CA exam multiple times, but I have no interest in standing around for a bus that may never come.