How Much Does SCOTUS Matter? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

How Much Does SCOTUS Matter?

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Apr 08, 2023 2:09 pm

I graduated from HYS; am finishing up my appellate clerkship and did my district clerkship already. I have a job lined up at the boutique litigation firm I wanted to go to, and my current goal is to make partner in boutique lit (not appellate), or maybe move in-house if I can handle the hours after a few years.

Both judges are semi-feeders (the circuit more than the district). However, I don't want to move to DC (my partner is committed to the west coast and we just got a place together and that's where my clerkship/boutique job both are).

Now, obviously SCOTUS is the most prestigious of any of all the prizes and I feel like I *should* be gunning for it. But I am tired of applying for things, I am liberal and right now there are fewer liberal justices, I know I have maybe a 5-8% chance of SCOTUS and don't want to beg all my judges and professors to go to bat for me when the likeliest outcome is failure, and I just want to be with my partner and focus on my work.

Is this just the tiredness talking and am I making a big mistake in not applying? I feel like there's no value to half-assing it, I either need to line up all the recommenders and things, or I can just skip it. How much is the value worth to my specific career plan, which doesn't involve appellate?

Anonymous User