Help - I took a useless second clerkship Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Help - I took a useless second clerkship

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Dec 18, 2023 8:04 pm

I graduated a t14 and took a federal district clerkship in my home flyover state after graduating. The judge for whom I clerked was great friends with somebody on that state’s supreme court, and we often ate lunch together. I quickly became friends with the SSC judge and they offered me a clerkship as well, which I took. At the time I thought that some appellate experience would be nice and it would further distance me from average law school grades.

Now, I’ve started applying to big law firms in the major markets Im interested in (CA & TX) and two separate screener interviewers told me, unprompted, that my state clerkship was strange. One said it detracted from my candidacy. Both firms have since ghosted me.

Is this salvageable and should I keep applying? I’m a bit worried I’ll be stuck in my home state forever.

Anonymous User

Re: Help - I took a useless second clerkship

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Dec 18, 2023 8:13 pm

That's incredibly weird and may just be unique to those firms. Every biglaw firm I applied to loved that I did federal and state clerkship.

jotarokujo

Bronze

Post by jotarokujo » Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:07 am

Anonymous User wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2023 8:04 pm