Job Pick Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Job Pick

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Dec 05, 2023 2:26 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a junior attorney- was at a regional BL firm like Jackson Walker for a bit and have been an AUSA now for a couple years. I went to a SMU/A&M/Baylor type of school and did well. I was offered a job with an AG office of special litigation. This is something I'm really interested in pursuing. Career goals would be to be State AG or SG, judge (state or fed), or USA. I'd be happy staying as a career AUSA, but feel I've kinda hit a ceiling (I could certainly be wrong here), and would be excited to take the plunge. What do you all think? Obviously, there are a lot of other factors, but gut is telling me it's not a bad move.

Sackboy

Silver

Re: Job Pick

Post by Sackboy » Tue Dec 05, 2023 8:43 pm

The law is a career that heavily rewards seniority, especially for the long-term roles you're interested in. Sticking it out as an AUSA and getting involved politically (to whatever degree you can and submitting yourself for USA/judicial vacancies or eventually leaving to make a run for State AG would probably be best. Hopping to special litigation in a state's AG office isn't likely to fast track you any more than being well known in a USAO. When you figure that out in a couple of years, will you regret leaving the presumably higher pay of the AUSA position? Will you be looking for your next career "accelerator?"

crouton62

New

Post by crouton62 » Wed Dec 06, 2023 10:31 am