Do irrelevant internships (i.e. engineering) count as WE? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kugjfcreut

New

Do irrelevant internships (i.e. engineering) count as WE?

Post by kugjfcreut » Sun Jun 18, 2023 12:59 pm

I'm a sophomore at HYPSM majoring in STEM and have done internships in software engineering at FAANG and unicorn type companies, but my ultimate dream is to practice law or develop policy related to defense, national security, and the like. My GPA is 3.93—not the highest but I'm confident I can get it up to 3.95 or higher by the time applications roll around. I'm aiming for YHS. My question is, how will these internships be viewed when applying to law schools? Additionally, I have one more slot for an internship next summer; should I instead focus on taking summer classes and doing policy research that's relevant to what I actually what to do in the future, or should I chase another SWE internship for the sake of the rat race? Any advice is appreciated!

420gamer69

New

Re: Do irrelevant internships (i.e. engineering) count as WE?

Post by 420gamer69 » Wed Jun 21, 2023 5:32 pm

Internships (whether "irrelevant" or not) aren't really work experience of the kind that people tend to talk about bolstering their law school applications. Internships are useful for demonstrating interest in a particular field and getting exposure to (as well as making connections in) the professional world. But they generally don't lead to the professional competencies that typically result from more substantive post-graduate "work experience."
In my mind, it would make sense to do a SWE internship if you wanted to spend a couple years in the field and develop substantive work experience before law school. Because it sounds like that's not your goal, it seems like it might be beneficial to get some exposure to the field you think you'd want to work in as a lawyer.

ksm6969

Bronze

Post by ksm6969 » Mon Jun 26, 2023 3:37 pm