Law school, scholarship & a full time job? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
hamster

New

Law school, scholarship & a full time job?

Post by hamster » Wed Jun 17, 2009 2:39 am

I'm a software engineer, in my late 20's. I was thinking about my future career path and got this idea to try to get a law degree with specialization in IP/patent law. There's a second-tier law school (USD) nearby that offers part-time degrees. Their tuition is manageable, but hefty enough to take away a big chunk of my disposable income (28k/year for 4 years).

I took GRE general a few years back and did quite well (800 math, 570 verbal); if it's any indication, I should be able to get a high score on LSAT.

Suppose I take LSAT and score above 170. Would I be able to get a scholarship that covers a big enough part of tuition, considering that I have a full time job (for now :) )?

im_blue

Gold

Re: Law school, scholarship & a full time job?

Post by im_blue » Wed Jun 17, 2009 2:41 am

hamster wrote:I'm a software engineer, in my late 20's. I was thinking about my future career path and got this idea to try to get a law degree with specialization in IP/patent law. There's a second-tier law school (USD) nearby that offers part-time degrees. Their tuition is manageable, but hefty enough to take away a big chunk of my disposable income (28k/year for 4 years).

I took GRE general a few years back and did quite well (800 math, 570 verbal); if it's any indication, I should be able to get a high score on LSAT.
No, that's not any indication. The GRE is basically the same as the SAT, and neither has much in common with the LSAT except for reading comprehension.
Suppose I take LSAT and score above 170. Would I be able to get a scholarship that covers a big enough part of tuition, considering that I have a full time job (for now :) )?