Lewis and Clark vs. Oregon Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
manaherea

New

Lewis and Clark vs. Oregon

Post by manaherea » Thu Jan 21, 2021 11:45 am

Hi, so, I know there have been a lot of posts asking this question, but in many cases the answers are very specific to the asker's situation: scholarship amounts, whether or not they are local, etc. So, I thought I'd ask again given my own situation:

I got into both L&C and UO with scholarships that are ALMOST full. Both would leave me with about 10 grand per year to cover and are renewable with the condition that I don't fail or drop below full time. I have lived in Oregon for 16 years since I was a teenager -- two of those years in Portland, the last five in Eugene.

At UO I have the chance to apply for a fellowship in 1L, at L&C only in 2L. I don't know what my chances of getting these are, but I have a masters in math with research experience, so, hopefully that would help. Also, more job opportunities while in school at L&C, particularly for a person with a masters in math (even finding clients to tutor would be easier in Portland, I think). In terms of cost, both situations look pretty close to me. I will live with my partner with an established career who is willing to let me pay only $500 per month toward rent either way.

I have applied to out-of-state schools and am waiting to hear back, but while I am interested in business law, I am pretty sure I don't want to work 90 hours a week for a large firm (my impression is that that's what big law requires -- am I wrong), so I am not sure it's worth moving out of state to go to a better school even if I do get in. I don't really know, but I hope I could get a business law job at a smaller firm from either of these schools. So, knowing I have decent scholarships in Oregon I am inclined to stay here.

Any advice?

crazywafflez

Silver

Re: Lewis and Clark vs. Oregon

Post by crazywafflez » Thu Jan 21, 2021 3:53 pm