Wisconsin vs. Fordham Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
billharford

New

Wisconsin vs. Fordham

Post by billharford » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:56 am

I'm a WI resident so tuition will be about $20,000/year, plus about $12,000 in COL for a total $34,000/year. I have yet to hear about scholarships.

Fordham offered me a paltry $5K/year so using their estimated COA I'm looking at ~$65K/year. I have yet to hear back for need based aid, but I nor my family are very wealthy so I'd imagine I'd get something.

In choosing a law school I have two general goals: first, attend a school that will allow me to obtain a job I will enjoy and one which will put me in a financially sound position, and secondly, attend a school out of state, preferably on one of the coasts.

I would like to work biglaw in a major legal market like L.A. or New York, but would settle for midlaw or a moderate size city in CA or the east coast. Really, money isn't a huge thing as long as I can land a job I enjoy and can live relatively comfortably. My larger concern is geographic location. I am dying here in WI. I have always wanted to move to a big city and feel that if I get stuck here I'll go nuts. Relocation isn't really a law school goal so much as a life goal; if I don't get out of here I will regret it for the rest of my life.

This is why I am so torn right now with my decision. I can tough out another 3 years in WI with the hopes of landing biglaw in CA or NYC after graduation, but given the placement statistics outside of WI for the law school here, my chances seem very small. Fordham, on the other hand, immediately grants me my dream of living in NYC and gives me a 1/5-1/4 shot at biglaw, but at a pretty hefty price.

Right now I'm leaning toward WI on the hope that I can perform well here (2 points above LSAT 75%) and be one of the lucky few that escape this place.

Any input would be great.

JCFindley

Silver

Re: Wisconsin vs. Fordham