Questions about Potentially Taking CA Bar Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Questions about Potentially Taking CA Bar

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 05, 2020 11:40 pm

*This post is anon because I don't want this traced to my current employers.*

I graduated from a lower T14, and am a commercial litigation junior associate in an AM200 law firm's secondary market office.

Down the line, I would love to practice in California - specifically in LA if possible. Obviously I'm not licensed in California - how would I go about preparing for this?

Should I somehow find a way to take off work for a week or so and cram hard, or should I just study while working if I can? And how would I go about taking the time off to physically take the bar in California? Has anyone ever done something like this?

Anonymous User

Re: Questions about Potentially Taking CA Bar

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Aug 06, 2020 2:37 am

I've often heard attorneys from other states fail the CA Bar because they do a week or two cram session. Since CA Bar is now 2-day and licensed attorneys only participate in the essay portion, which can be pulled from all the subjects in terms of topic, I would think you'd want to study while you work and then maybe pull a week as time gets closer to the exam to "cram". I suspect you'll want to take vacation time to take the CA Bar. Not sure there is any other alternative.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:35 pm