2.96 gpa/172 lsat and a bunch of questions Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
tumbleweed664

New

2.96 gpa/172 lsat and a bunch of questions

Post by tumbleweed664 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:36 pm

Hey all,

Bet you guys are sick of looking at these, eh? I was hoping to get some advice concerning where to apply; I am having trouble finding a good range because my scores are so divergent.

The bad news: I have a 2.96 GPA. I majored in Psychology at a tough school (tough enough that they send cover letters with every transcript saying they are tough/refuse to use grade inflation, have a low average gpa, etc.), but I have no idea if schools care at all about that.

The good news: I took a LSAT diagnostic at the state school near where I live and got 172 without studying. It was under real conditions, full of annoying, noisy people and timed and proctored by a professor. I am hoping to raise the score with actual practice before June, and will be shooting for a 180.

Also, in college I had a number of extracurriculars: I was the Chair of the school's Judicial Board, a Resident Advisor, and have spent summers taking classes at Harvard, Cambridge, and the Iowa Writer's Studio, and have gotten awards from two of those programs and got A's at Harvard. I spent a summer teaching the local Sheriff's department a combination of topics. I was also on a bunch of committee’s at college, and volunteered consistently through the four years. Oh, besides being an RA (which pays surprisingly well), I worked part-time to help pay for college.

So, my questions:

1. Where, in general, should I apply? I know my GPA is criminally low. I do think that if I spend the months before the LSAT prepping, I could really bring up the 172.