3.94GPA, 167LSAT NU ED vs UT Austin ED Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
abbyballet

New

3.94GPA, 167LSAT NU ED vs UT Austin ED

Post by abbyballet » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:12 am

Hey guys, I am an 29-year-old international student. I finished my undergraduate and graduate works in America, and worked in my home country for five years. This year, I am applying for law schools in America and Canada, and hopefully, start a legal career in North America after 3 years. As an international student who would need a H1B to work in America, I choose law schools mainly based on Biglaw job placement, cost of attendance. Also, I have a lovely five-year-old son who will attend elementary school when I start law school, so I am choosing a place to live for both of us. Weather, life and public school quality would be crucial deciding factors .

I have a 3.94/4.00 GPA from an ivy league school, scored 167 for LSAT, and worked 5 yr in education industry. I am thinking about applying to NU(130k scholarship for ED applicants is tempting, supportive learning environment. but I have safety concerns for Streeterville ) Duke, Cornell(strong ties to NY market), UT Austin(good job placement in TX), UCLA, WUSTL(possible full-ride opportunity), USC(possible full-ride opportunity).

Applicants to NU for Early Decision Program who got accepted receive 130k scholarship. And ED applicants to UT Austin pay in-state tuition plus scholarship. Is it wise for me to ED NU/UT Austin to for scholarship opportunities? Also, based on my numbers, what other schools should I apply to?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated! :D :D

splitmuch

Silver

Re: 3.94GPA, 167LSAT NU ED vs UT Austin ED

Post by splitmuch » Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:35 am

Safety concerns with Streeterville? What? Do you think all doctors carry contagious diseases or something?