STEM Major + MS Degree School opportunities Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
joeybadafuco

New

STEM Major + MS Degree School opportunities

Post by joeybadafuco » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:25 pm

Hi Everyone:

I'll keep it pretty brief. I am a graduate with a B.S. in Chemical Engineering + Chemistry from a big 10 school, on a 3/4 ride (best decision of my life was to go to college for a heavy discount). While there I was published twice in academic journals (I won some awards for the research) and I earned a 3.6 GPA. After that, I went to get an MS in quantitative finance (this field has basically become a mix of statistics, computer science and data analytics) and graduated with a 3.96, and wrote an academic paper on quant finance too. I've also been working for two years in finance (think large consumer finance company). It is a big data/quantitative analytics role, and have also interned at a government agency. I want to move into something more strategic/executive, and I am considering Law School and wondering what I schools I could realistically attend.

I want to go to Law School because I am envisioning a dramatic shift in the paradigm of transactions and contracts in the coming future, and I want to position myself to be ahead of it. Ideally I'd like to focus on transactions,contracts and IP.

I have gotten a 165 on my LSAT. Say I don't retake it, are schools like HYP, columbia and NYU off the table? Would part-time law school make any sense? I make a decent chunk of change at my current job, so I am wondering if this decision would be a wise one, and if I am going to have to pay sticker price.

I am not sure which details to include so if I am missing some, let me know and I'll provide them.

Thanks!

cavalier1138

Re: STEM Major + MS Degree School opportunities

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:47 am

First things first: