3.3 and 165+ Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
CarolinaLawGirl

New

3.3 and 165+

Post by CarolinaLawGirl » Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:20 pm

Hi there! I am a non-traditional student. I am almost 32 and will be graduating with my BA next spring. I worked my way through college as a single mom to two children on the autism spectrum so I spent a lot of time going to school part time in undergrad. I would be looking to start law school fall 2021. My kids will be well into their teen years at that point. I am also now married to a man who wants to see me succeed in law school and is willing to make it possible without me needing to take out cost of living loans.

I have taken two timed practice LSATs. I got a 165 on the first one (cold and no studying). I got a 168 on the second (the only studying was taking the previous test). Logic puzzles are a hot mess but my other sections were nearly perfect. I hope if I put in some time studying that I can hit 170, but anything over 165 is okay with me. My GPA can be pushed up to 3.3 by the time I finish my last 12 credits.

I am coming from a private women's college that was ranked in the top 10 for women's colleges. It has an amazing reputation locally but not as much name recognition as someplace like Vanderbilt. I went there because they offered me lots of scholarship money. I have an AA and graduated Magna Cum Laude from community college but my GPA has not been as pretty in the rigorous environment of the women's college. (A 92% is a B+ at this school and an 87% is a B.)