4.1/159 - chances at T14? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Lawgirl96

New

4.1/159 - chances at T14?

Post by Lawgirl96 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:01 pm

Hi,

I took the LSAT 3 times. My highest was my 2nd time, which was a 159. Third retake was bad, so I gave up on retaking and decided to move on with my score. I'm an undergrad honor senior. But, I have 2 years of work experience at a law firm (working while in school full-time) + semester of court internship. I'm also a first generation college student and a relatively new immigrant. What are my chances at a T14 school?

Thanks

QContinuum

Re: 4.1/159 - chances at T14?

Post by QContinuum » Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:55 pm

Not good. You might get into UVA, but even if you get in, you'll almost certainly be stuck paying sticker.

Don't waste your 4.1 on a sub-160 LSAT. I get that you've taken it 3 times, but there's no upper limit on how many times you can retake the test, and schools only consider your highest score. Doing well on the LSAT could literally be worth >$250k in post-tax money (>$400k in gross income) - and that's assuming you even get into a T13 at all with your current LSAT. I realize not everyone can get a 170+ on the LSAT, but there's really no reason you can't get into the mid-160s at least. You need to study right, not just brute-force take the test again and again (which, as you've seen, does not lead to significant improvement - after all, you're merely repeating what you've already done before).

notrub14

New

Post by notrub14 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:12 am

Lawgirl96 wrote:Hi,