2.91 cGPA, 177 LSAT Chances Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
canuk95

New

2.91 cGPA, 177 LSAT Chances

Post by canuk95 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:23 pm

Hello!
I am a Canadian student from a top Canadian university interested in furthering my studies in the US. I have a terrible cGPA but a decent LSAT and was wondering if I'd have a shot at Top 20 schools in the states. Thanks!

albanach

Gold

Re: 2.91 cGPA, 177 LSAT Chances

Post by albanach » Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:13 pm

canuk95 wrote:Hello!
I am a Canadian student from a top Canadian university interested in furthering my studies in the US. I have a terrible cGPA but a decent LSAT and was wondering if I'd have a shot at Top 20 schools in the states. Thanks!
There's almost no data so it's a guessing game. Is there any mitigating reason for your GPA? How far out from school are you? Don't suppose you're a URM?

I think you'd be applying everywhere. I'd bet you have a shot somewhere in the T-20 range, but whether or not that comes with any money would be anyone's guess.

You can't improve your numbers at all, so I'd advise applying to every school in the T-20 minus HYS because you're not getting in to those schools. Your personal statement should be excellent. You've plenty of time before applications open, so craft a strong Why X essay for every school, using research to draw upon factors unique to that school and make it sincere.

If you have no success, I'd wait a few years to separate you further from school and show you can be successful professionally, then try again.

KunAgnis

Bronze

Post by KunAgnis » Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:35 pm

albanach wrote:
There's almost no data so it's a guessing game. Is there any mitigating reason for your GPA? How far out from school are you? Don't suppose you're a URM?