Bio grad splitter applying to law school in 2019, need advice. 178 LSAT, 3.51 GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Shadow9314

New

Bio grad splitter applying to law school in 2019, need advice. 178 LSAT, 3.51 GPA

Post by Shadow9314 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:39 pm

Hey everyone,

I graduated in 2016 with a degree in biochemistry from Temple U in Philadelphia. I was originally planning to go into the healthcare but changed my mind last year and decided to take the LSAT. I got a 178 on the Nov LSAT (1st try)which was awesome but I’m concerned about my low gpa (3.51 on LSDAS). I don’t really have anything to write a gpa addendum on. I was taking high level bio and chem classes which definitely stopped me from getting a 3.8+. I do have a somewhat positive trend yearly (freshman year was a 3.2x, senior was around a 3.8 with higher level classes). I want to do biglaw and hopefully stay in the philly area.

What do you guys think of my chances at the T-14? Specifically Penn, NYU, Cornell and Columbia (they’re the closest to PA). Also chances at Temple and Villanova since they also feed relatively well into the PA area. Penn is my top choice and I would be comfortable applying early decision there. Thanks guys!

cavalier1138

Re: Bio grad splitter applying to law school in 2019, need advice. 178 LSAT, 3.51 GPA

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:01 pm

You're a strong applicant across the T13, with the exception of Yale and Stanford. Harvard is iffy, and Berkeley may not happen (for some reason they strongly favor GPA over LSAT).

As for your school list: what kind of work do you want to do in PA? You absolutely shouldn't be applying anywhere ED, but the job opportunities available from Temple/Villanova are radically different from the job opportunities out of any T13.

QContinuum

Re: Bio grad splitter applying to law school in 2019, need advice. 178 LSAT, 3.51 GPA