Chances of T-14? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
dricalei

New

Chances of T-14?

Post by dricalei » Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:15 pm

I have a 3.7 undergrad GPA (some Bs first year, but after that mostly As) from a top 30 liberal arts schools and 3.9 Master GPA from a top university. I have two years of full-time work experience in my field, abroad experience with a Fulbright, and several relevant internship experiences as an undergrad. I also speak three languages (English, Spanish, Portuguese).

The problem is that my LSAT is very weak. I took it the first time right after undergrad and got a 156 and opted for a Master's instead as my GRE scores were much more competitive. I figured if I could improve this to 160+ I would be at least competitive. I retook it during my last semester of my Master's and my score dropped to a 152 and I was horrified. It probably wasn't the best timing as I was completing my thesis and had several professional and research obligations (which I don't think are worthy of an addendum), just a reflection of the situation.

Is it worth it to apply for a T-14 school? In terms of other stats, I'm a woman, half white, half latina (South American). Thank you!

cavalier1138

Re: Chances of T-14?

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Depending on your specific South American background, you may get a slight URM boost. But assuming you don't get that, you are absolutely not competitive at the T14 (or at many top regional schools, for that matter).

But the question isn't "Is it worth it to apply for a T-14 school?" The question is whether it's worth it for you to go to the schools you're likely to get at the prices you're likely to pay.

dricalei

New

Post by dricalei » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:58 pm