Chance me for Columbia Law School Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
CLS2020

New

Chance me for Columbia Law School

Post by CLS2020 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:54 am

I'm applying in the 2019-2020 cycle, early decision. I graduated from NYU summa cum laude with a GPA of 3.91 double majoring in sociology and political science. My LSAT score is at a 172. I have good letters of recommendations from professors I am close with--one who supervised my senior honors thesis and one whom I've done research under and had for two classes. My main concern, however, is that my resumé is not particularly strong for someone applying to an Ivy League. I have done several internships, but they are not for large-named, prestigious companies. I launched a non-profit focusing on destigmatizing mental health and mental illness, as mental health is one of my biggest passions. I also have done several on-campus leadership roles.

ernietakeslsac

New

Re: Chance me for Columbia Law School

Post by ernietakeslsac » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:34 am

You’re fine imo. Softs matter exponentially less than numbers and your numbers are good; LSAT is at median and GPA well above 75th percentile.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:14 pm

You're fine.

Also, just because some of the language in your post raised flags. You're not evaluating law school quality based on the "Ivy League" designation, right? The T13 includes a number a non-Ivy schools.

Wubbles

Bronze

Post by Wubbles » Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:00 pm

Also, don't apply early decision and apply to the whole t13

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:02 pm

cavalier1138 wrote:You're fine.

Also, just because some of the language in your post raised flags. You're not evaluating law school quality based on the "Ivy League" designation, right? The T13 includes a number a non-Ivy schools.