LONG POST! Non-traditional student, 3.8 GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Sassysepi

New

LONG POST! Non-traditional student, 3.8 GPA

Post by Sassysepi » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:21 pm

I’m applying to law schools next summer, I currently have 3.8 GPA and I’m graduating this fall. However I have been in school for a very long time. I graduated high school in 2008, started in community college and that was when my mom was diagnosed with stage IV cancer. My life really changed during that time I was working, taking care of her and went to school and I did really bad in school (withdrawals, a few D’s, and 2 F’s) for some reason I really wanted to be in school even though I was not doing good. Maybe it was because my mom felt guilty that because of her I couldn’t focus on my life and school or maybe it was my way of feeling safe. I was in commit College for 3 years then I went back home with her and I was there for 2 years( I was taking classes with Harvard extension) when she passed away I came back to US and continued taking classes at Harvard extension. (One of the failed classes was there, I failed one class) I was dealing with a lot and I was dealing with the griefe and trying to bring my husband who I met back home to US. So anyways I started college as a management major student in 2016 when my husband was here after 3 years of trying! I gave it my all and as of right now have a 3.8 GPA but when I combine all my grades from past it comes to like 2.5 .

So if I get a good LSAT score 175-180 what are my chances of getting to a good law school?

I really don’t want to settle for any school, because I have worked so hard to get where I am (I worked two jobs full time and full time school). Top 20 is my goal, Is this a possibility?

DerKatze

New

Re: LONG POST! Non-traditional student, 3.8 GPA

Post by DerKatze » Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:56 pm