T20 ? Academic Dishonesty, 1 F, 2 Ws 176 LSAT 3.0 LSAC GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Ht2465

New

T20 ? Academic Dishonesty, 1 F, 2 Ws 176 LSAT 3.0 LSAC GPA

Post by Ht2465 » Wed May 30, 2018 3:39 pm

My freshman year, my academic dishonesty resulted in a year of probation with the only penalty of not studying abroad. It was a foolish case of collaborating on a coding assignment. My partner and I were unaware of the rules of collaboration and submitted the work. It was an isolated incident that has not been repeated since.

My F and Ws were in courses related to the STEM field. I was an engineer and computer science major (hence the coding) but have since switched to public policy. Since then, I have had a steady uptick in GPA.

The term in which the academic dishonesty was committed and 1 of the 2 Ws occurred during a semester when my sibling had an attempted suicide.

The term where I received a failing grade was the subsequent summer and during that time, my father essentially disappeared for three months in a foreign country and was presumed dead (turns out he just prefers not to communicate with his family.)

Although these circumstances are not an excuse for my poor behaviour, I believe them to be rare.

I plan on writing an addendum to address the academic dishonesty and the GPA (specifically addressing the Ws and F).

2.98 GPA at top 10 university --> 3.0 LSAC GPA, 176 LSAT AA URM

softs : Over a year WE with a federal agency, (full and part-time), research in Society in Science division of my university, volunteer work abroad with a youth center that serves children removed from abusive homes, involved in campus multiracial advocacy group, volunteer with non-profits, tutor and college advisor to at-risk high school students.