2.9 GPA, 171 LSAT Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Nepster

New

2.9 GPA, 171 LSAT

Post by Nepster » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:07 pm

Hey guys, just curious of where you all think I should shoot, and what does/doesn’t help me. I also want to apologize for an ignorance ahead of time.

I’m 25 Mexican make, and will be looking to attend law school in 2019, so I will be 26 going on 27. I’m currently an energy trader, looking to make the transition into corporate law or becoming a prosecutor.

My GPA to LSAT ‘ratio’ - I am nervous this paints a picture of laziness, is that something to worry about? I had to leave school for a semester to take care of my sick grandparents and could not afford to pay $5000 cash to withdraw so I ended up just not going and received two D’s and two F’s that semester. I was able to drop one class, hence the four grades, to lessen some of the blow, but it hurt. I had already retaken a class to not have a C in my major course work so I was still left with an F on my transcript.

One of my ‘worries’ is being 30 and getting my first law job. Can anyone shed some light on the subject if they do not mind? Also, health insurance, that worries me a bit as well, as you are no longer to be covered on your parents insurance after the age of 26, and with no income... That leaves a question mark as well.

Last but not least, I have family ties to Pittsburgh so I am definitely considering Pitt, however, I am not sure of the economic make up of Pittsburgh in regards to law. Are there opportunities? Does Pitt place better than say, Penn State in Pittsburgh?

Thanks,
N

cannonballer

Bronze

Re: 2.9 GPA, 171 LSAT

Post by cannonballer » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:48 pm

Hi N,