California Resident Looking to Stay: Give Me the Dirt Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
LonelySprout

New

California Resident Looking to Stay: Give Me the Dirt

Post by LonelySprout » Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:42 am

Hello friends,

I am here to know what the stars have in store for me. I've done my research, but I'd appreciate multiple perspectives on my numbers. Before I do. here's a bit about my goals. I'm a California resident and would like to stay in California in order for my fiance and I to be near our families; I need to be close to help take care of my severely disabled brother. As such, I'm not interested in schools outside of California. Furthermore, my fiance will graduate nursing school in a year and will, assuming all goes well, be a licensed nurse in California. I'm applying to schools this fall. That being said, here we go.

Numbers: 165, UGPA 3.9, Philosophy MA GPA 4.0

My schools in what I perceive to be a descending order of unlikelihood with Berkeley being the least likely:

1. Berkeley
2. UCLA
3. USC
4. Irving
5. Davis

Beyond that, I might toss apps to USD, Pepperdine, Loyola, McGeorge, and Santa Clara; however, from what I can discern, that probably isn't necessary.

I'd rather settle for as little debt as possible; so, I'm ultimately aiming for the best financial aid package possible. Even if my stats were beyond stellar, I would not mind attending a solid (but not necessarily elite) school like Irvine or Davis over a Berkeley or UCLA (if the money were right). I don't have aspirations of grandeur.