GPA in the Gutter Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
N1ck3121

New

GPA in the Gutter

Post by N1ck3121 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:16 pm

I graduated from UHART in 2012 with a GPA of 2.46.
I've been in sales for 6 years (presidents club if it matters) and I've finally decided to pursue a law degree.
I have not yet taken the real LSAT but I've scored 162 with zero prep on a practice exam if that matters.

Realistically how well will I need to do on the LSAT to offset my horrifying GPA in order to get into UCONN law?
I have plenty of time to prepare (and do other things if they benefit my goals) as I can't apply for this cycle.

sparkytrainer

Silver

Re: GPA in the Gutter

Post by sparkytrainer » Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:09 pm

You shouldn't go to any law school that would admit you with that GPA. Sorry but sometimes things don't work out.

N1ck3121

New

Post by N1ck3121 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:05 pm

So if I get into Uconn Law then no one should ever go to Uconn Law.
Got it.

Gitaroo_Dude

Silver

Post by Gitaroo_Dude » Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:00 pm

Ignore Sparkytrainer.

In general, with a GPA that low you need to shoot for a high 160 score at minimum (like 167+) so that you can get into a school with some money.

The big question here is what are your career goals? With the a high LSAT score you can land a solid regional like UConn at an affordable cost, but if you're looking to do BigLaw then this is mostly going to be an exercise in futility because the schools you can get into won't give you a good shot at achieving your goals.

N1ck3121

New

Post by N1ck3121 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:47 pm

Big law isn't something that's high on my radar. I'm keeping my end game options open but I'm leaning toward a job as in house counsel. Even if I have to grind for a few years to get the gig I really want.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!