Will finishing my undergrad early matter to T14 schools? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
prospectivelawyer82

New

Will finishing my undergrad early matter to T14 schools?

Post by prospectivelawyer82 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:51 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a second-year undergrad student at a top-20 private university right now. I'm planning on finishing in three years, basically because I have the credits to do so, am almost finished with my major (economics, if it matters), and would like to save my money and put it towards law school. I'm wondering if it would make a difference to law schools if I finish early. Also, if I do so, would it be better to apply next cycle or wait until my three years are complete and apply after graduating? I'd ideally like to go to law school straight out of college, but not if doing so will adversely affect my chances of being admitted anywhere.

My dream school is Harvard, which is definitely a tall order, but I'm studying really hard for the LSAT and hoping I can get my stats where they'd need to be. Realistically, though, I'd be very happy with any T14 school, preferably something urban with good job placement in New York/New England.

Just for context, my GPA is a 3.85 and will hopefully be a 3.87-3.88 by the end of next semester. I'm planning on taking the LSAT in June, and I've been PTing consistently in the 170-175 range so far. I'm hoping that with diligent studying I can score at least a 173, but obviously we'll just have to wait and see. Also, non-URM.

Thank you for answering my question! Best of luck to everyone applying to schools.

TLSModBot

Diamond

Re: Will finishing my undergrad early matter to T14 schools?

Post by TLSModBot » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:59 am

A. No it won't affect admission chances