International student, 2.95 gpa, 179 LSAT, upward trend. NYU law possible? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
silverbrioche1

New

International student, 2.95 gpa, 179 LSAT, upward trend. NYU law possible?

Post by silverbrioche1 » Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:10 pm

I have a BA in History from an Australian Uni with a GPA of 2.95, BUT I don't think our 4 point gpa converts directly to the American one. I had severe illness during my first year and failed nearly everything, but I have a 4.0 for my last two years (hence the upward trend). I also have an LSAT score of 179 (first attempt, studied full time for 4 months). I'm a recent grad, no work experience except an internship I undertook as part of my degree.
I have my heart set on NYU or Colombia for their international law programs. Do I have any chance with a well written addendum?

Rigo

Diamond

Re: International student, 2.95 gpa, 179 LSAT, upward trend. NYU law possible?

Post by Rigo » Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:14 pm

Are Australian GPA's reported like American ones? (Asking the hive, not you)

I think you might just be in the clear, so yes, I think you have a great shot at NYU and ColUmbia. Blanket the T13 though. You're a strong applicant if that 2.95 isn't reported.

silverbrioche1

New

Post by silverbrioche1 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:59 pm

gentle bump + I have a feeling the 2.95 will be reported :( I've also been told that international applicants are at a major disadvantage

rowdy

Bronze

Post by rowdy » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:08 pm

silverbrioche1 wrote:gentle bump + I have a feeling the 2.95 will be reported :( I've also been told that international applicants are at a major disadvantage