178 3.65, HSY? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
tommm

New

178 3.65, HSY?

Post by tommm » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:36 pm

I am wondering what my chances might be, especially for H or Y with my numbers. I know my GPA is well below the 25th, but I wonder if my softs and high LSAT can make up for it in any way? Also, I am majoring in Mechanical Engineering at large reputable university, so I'm not sure if that makes any difference.

My softs include: I'm a non-traditional student, worked for 6 years as a Navy Submariner, am a member of two engineering honor societies, have done volunteer work for local veterans organizations, have done some work to help with school fundraising, and I am a member of my schools water polo team. I also believe I have one strong academic LOR, and one ok academic LOR, as well as a strong work LOR from a former Navy Officer.

Any thoughts or advice on how I might try to increase my chances as a wildcard would be greatly appreciated!

cavalier1138

Re: 178 3.65, HSY?

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:42 pm

You have a shot at Harvard, but probably out at Y/S, because they're both really hot on GPAs.

But you're also likely to get good money at CCN on down. Why are you so focused on HYS?

tommm

New

Post by tommm » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:58 pm

I would say my focus on H and Y particularly is a result of two things. First, I am very interested in a judicial clerkship and they have the best percentages. The second factor is that I happen to live in between the two schools geographically and would like it if I could stay at home while I attend law school in order to minimize my debt.

Dcc617

Gold

Post by Dcc617 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:18 am