Looking for some advice on what to do: Low GPA, URM, 168 LSAT below potential Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
JsLS2017

New

Looking for some advice on what to do: Low GPA, URM, 168 LSAT below potential

Post by JsLS2017 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:51 pm

Hello,

Just wanted to solicit some thoughts about where I should be applying and when I should be applying. I’ll just list off the important factors about me below:

1) URM (half African American)
2)UGPA: 2.72 I believe based on LSAC calculations. My GPA is hindered by a semester at community college of 3 failing grades where I did not withdraw (retook all classes and got As), a few bad quarters when I first went to a four year out of high school (before withdrawing, going to community college, then re-entering and graduating), and a few NP classes during the later time in my college career. I was a full time student and full time employee from the time I first withdrew to the time I graduated.
3) LSAT: 168
4) I graduated in summer of 2015 and have been working full time for a government legal office since then as a clerk. I figured the distance from undergrad and professional experience in a legal environment could help.
5) This is a big one: DUI at the start of 2016. I’ve already been convicted/paid fines, and have had no legal issues since then. I also no longer drink, though thay may be irrelevant on this one.

So given those basic factors, where should I be applying? I’m considering a retake of the LSAT, I took it after a night of no sleep and the day after a break-up in a long term relationship, and I know I can do better. I did not go in nearly as focused and mentally stable as I planned, and my score was below my diagnostics. I think I’m capable of at least 172 and up to 175+ depending on the games on the LSAT.