UK doctor Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
UKpeep

New

UK doctor

Post by UKpeep » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:27 am

Now, I probably won't do it but I am curious about what my chances would be to get into a T14 school? I am from the UK, I have a standard undergrad degree and a medical degree, I also have my postgrad surgical qualifications and am a surgical trainee (resident). I don't know where I am in terms of GPA as that isn't how it is done over here, my first degree was a 2.1 but medical degrees are also undergrad here but aren't classified, it's pass/fail overall. I don't know if surgical exams count for anything but overall only about 30% of people taking them pass, and they are pass/fail, not graded. My CV is well above average for a surgical trainee in my specialty which is the most competitive in the UK. Practice LSAT scores are 175+
Last edited by UKpeep on Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:41 am, edited 2 times in total.

cavalier1138

Re: UK doctor

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:38 am

International GPAs are converted to a generic scale (superior, above average, etc.). If you were to actually score a 175+ on the LSAT, you'd be competitive anywhere, at least based on my understanding of what a 2:1 converts to in the LSAC report.

But I'm deeply confused about why a surgeon would want to move to a different country to get a totally different professional degree.

UKpeep

New

Post by UKpeep » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:43 am

cavalier1138 wrote:International GPAs are converted to a generic scale (superior, above average, etc.). If you were to actually score a 175+ on the LSAT, you'd be competitive anywhere, at least based on my understanding of what a 2:1 converts to in the LSAC report.

But I'm deeply confused about why a surgeon would want to move to a different country to get a totally different professional degree.