Are Canadian undergraduates applying to American law schools at an disadvantage? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Andrew66

New

Are Canadian undergraduates applying to American law schools at an disadvantage?

Post by Andrew66 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:25 pm

Hi everyone. I'm a Canadian HS student planning on pursuing my undergraduate degree in Canada. My dream is to practise American law and so I plan on applying to the T-14 law schools in the states thereafter.

The searches I have made in this forum have made me come to the conclusion that I wont be at a disadvantage. However, I have been told on a different forum that international applicants are placed into a different pool by admissions councils. The law school class profiles of USC Gould, Virginia, and UCLA also indicate very, very few Canadian undergraduates.

Also, do American law schools look at the reputations of Canadian UG institutions? The most frequent answer I have received is 'no'. But when I looked at the class profiles I previously mentioned, the only Canadian universities that appeared were the University of Toronto and McGill. Should I consider lesser know universities such as UBC, Western, McMasters, etc.?
Last edited by Andrew66 on Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tr5890

New

Re: Are Canadian undergraduates applying to American law schools at an disadvantage?

Post by tr5890 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:34 pm

Andrew66 wrote:Hi everyone. I'm a Canadian HS student planning on pursuing my undergraduate degree in Canada. My dream is to practise American law and so I plan on applying to the T-14 law schools in the states thereafter.