University of Washington is my Unicorn Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
DorkothyParker

Bronze

University of Washington is my Unicorn

Post by DorkothyParker » Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:42 pm

I am a non-traditional student (poor UG, but strong grad school) to boot applying for the 2017/2018 cycle. I don't have my LSAT score but consistently tested above the 75th% in PT and can retake in September if a wreck.

I have great softs (worked internationally, volunteer as a mediator at local courthouse, volunteer helping foster kids), but I know I will need the extra oomph to even get a second glance. I also don't want to repeat my resume. I hope this is okay, but would anyone who was accepted to UW be willing to share their essay with me?

Insight is well appreciated. I know it's super competitive, but so am I. Thanks!

UG: 2.9 This isn't for any reason so not sure about how to address it other than it's been nearly a decade.
Likely LSAT: 168 (if consistent with PT, but never lower than 165 since I started studying. I can retake but feel like those last few points are always out of reach.)

mcmand

Silver

Re: University of Washington is my Unicorn

Post by mcmand » Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:45 pm

2017 UW Law grad. PM me and I can share my personal statements if you want.

With that said, I also sat on the admissions committee last year as a student member, and I don't think there's some perfect formula of a personal statement that will get you admission when you're a super splitter, at least at UW. It just has to be well-written, genuine, and answer the question of "Why UW?". Ideally, it should be interesting to read. But don't overthink it.

Try hard to get that LSAT up higher if you can.