2.86 GPA, 3.46 Masters GPA, 5 years experience in international development (NGOs, UN) Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
bibik786

New

2.86 GPA, 3.46 Masters GPA, 5 years experience in international development (NGOs, UN)

Post by bibik786 » Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:51 pm

Hi All,

Here is my story in a nutshell.

1. Undergrad Degree GPA: 2.86 - I went to a top 30 university, had no idea what I wanted to do, went through some personal stuff at home and came out with a 2.86 GPA (double major + minor).
2. Work Experience: I spent three years working and interning for NGOs, a think tank, volunteering abroad
3. Graduate Degree GPA: 3.46 - Got into a top three university for public administration, focused on international development, and came out with a 3.46 GPA. This is lower than I had hoped because I was very active professionally. I was an intern and consultant for a few UN agencies nearly full time and I did some research internationally.
4. Work Experience: now working at the UN for two years since grad school
5. Central-Asian female

Keeping in mind this trajectory, and if I can score 170+ on the LSAT (my scores are promising), what are my chances of getting into a T14 school. My first choice is NYU.

bibik786

New

Re: 2.86 GPA, 3.46 Masters GPA, 5 years experience in international development (NGOs, UN)

Post by bibik786 » Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:00 pm

I forgot to add, I'm 8 years out of undergrad - aka 8 years removed from my atrocious GPA. :oops: :(

laqueredup

Bronze

Re: 2.86 GPA, 3.46 Masters GPA, 5 years experience in international development (NGOs, UN)

Post by laqueredup » Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:41 am

Hey,

I think that while NYU will be a very long shot, you have a better shot at a few T14 acceptances if you break 171.