Former Law Student, Great Softs, Great GPA, Low LSAT Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
EricaH

New

Former Law Student, Great Softs, Great GPA, Low LSAT

Post by EricaH » Sun Apr 30, 2017 12:04 pm

Hello! I was accepted and began my full-time 1L year in 2012 at St. Louis University. At that time, I had a very difficult family emergency that required me to leave unexpectantly before finals. I left on good terms. Since leaving law school, I have obtained a Masters and am teaching law classes at the high school level. I worked as a paralegal before going to law school. I am 35 so likely a non-traditional student and am really only interested in restarting my first year as a part-time student at SLU due to teaching contract and location(unable to relocate.) I would like to take full-time classes during the summer if that's a possibility. During 2011 cycle, I claimed both Caucasian and American Indian, which I will claim again.

What are your thoughts on admission to the part-time program? I believe that part-time candidates have lower LSAT scores but SOFTS are looked at more closely. I have a 3.4 GPA for undergrad, 4.0 GPA for Masters and a 148 LSAT score (sucks, I know.) I am retaking the LSAT in June but would still like to be considered for this cycle. I appreciate your responses!

cavalier1138

Re: Former Law Student, Great Softs, Great GPA, Low LSAT

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun Apr 30, 2017 12:28 pm

What are your career goals?

EricaH

New

Post by EricaH » Mon May 01, 2017 1:27 am

cavalier1138 wrote:What are your career goals?
Thank you for responding. My goal would be to practice in the area of personal injury or contract law. I'm not looking at BigLaw. And would be perfectly happy practicing in my hometown at a local law firm.

Moneytrees

Silver

Post by Moneytrees » Mon May 01, 2017 3:21 am