Does age play a factor? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
beepboop

New

Does age play a factor?

Post by beepboop » Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:09 pm

I am currently about to finish my 2nd year of undergrad, but I've saved up enough credits to graduate by Spring 2018.

Current Stats
  • Major: Electrical Engineering/Computer Science
  • GPA: 3.8 (the average GPA in my major is forcibly curved to a 2.7)
  • Letters of rec: mediocre, probably - I do well in my classes, but I'm no superstar, and my professors are mostly the busy, unconcerned type
  • Extracurriculars: Not that great; I'm not involved in much outside of honors societies, in which I have little leadership/participation
  • Work experience: Above average
    • 2 research internships
    • 1 industry internship
    • personal projects (probably less impressive to law schools than tech companies)
I heard that younger, less experienced applicants are grilled harder. In terms of T14 these stats seem pretty average, so I'm wondering if I have a reasonable chance if I apply in Fall 2017, given my age.
Another year will likely give me time to improve my extracurriculars/professor relations, but also lower my GPA. (Such is engineering life.)

Should I wait to apply? Or apply now, and if things don't work out, reapply later?
Last edited by beepboop on Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grades??

Silver

Re: Does age play a factor?

Post by grades?? » Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:14 pm

Generally you should take some time off between undergrad and law school. It makes a real difference. Also, do you have an LSAT?

UVA2B

Gold

Post by UVA2B » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:05 pm

How would you not have strong recs from a few profs if you have a 3.8 in a program that curves to a 2.7? By definition I'd call that a rockstar.