3.57 172 let's call my softs...unique Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
universe112

New

3.57 172 let's call my softs...unique

Post by universe112 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:09 pm

Hey all, really appreciate what you do here. A few questions: First, I had a personal incident the final semester of my senior year (best friend who went to school near me ended up diagnosed bipolar 1) and I got a D and a C- that semester. My GPA prior would have been pretty solid. Should I include an addendum for this? Is any law school likely to care given my GPA's effect on its median? Second, I'm a professional poker player. I played my way through college and have done only that for the nearly 5 years since I graduated college. Any thoughts on how a law school might react to it? Should it be hidden? Featured?

And finally, what do people think are my likely outcomes? (Yes, I'm taking the June exam.)

UVA2B

Gold

Re: 3.57 172 let's call my softs...unique

Post by UVA2B » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:23 pm

Do you have a 172, or is this just what you think you'll get? You should probably make that more clear, and if just guessing, wait until you get a score to assess options.

Nothing about your record suggests an addendum for that stuff would really help. They'll take your GPA for what it is and move on.

The professional poker player thing could be an interesting spin to put in your PS, but like any PS topic, it's entirely about how you frame it and make it work to give your application better dimensions and fill you out as a person.

Finally, if you want to play around with your chances, and considering nothing about you particularly suggests you'll play above or below your numbers, head to http://mylsn.info. That site is the best resource you'll have for gauging how your numbers will do.

universe112

New

Post by universe112 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:25 pm