170/3.99/Peace Corps service Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
llorjc721

New

170/3.99/Peace Corps service

Post by llorjc721 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:01 pm

I graduated summa cum laude three years ago from a large public university (well-ranked but certainly not exceptional). My GPA was 3.99 with 4.0 in both of my majors. In addition, I had strong leadership and research experience during my undergraduate career. After I graduated, I served in the Peace Corps, and my major project relates significantly to the international human rights law that I plan to study.
I just received 170 on my LSAT. I was hoping to receive some guidance about which top schools I have the best chance. I was specifically looking at Columbia, UChicago, and Berkeley. Any advice would be appreciated.

cavalier1138

Re: 170/3.99/Peace Corps service

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:04 pm

Very solid shot at Berkeley. Decent shot at Columbia and Chicago.

You have a better chance at NYU than you do at Columbia or Chicago, and I have no idea why someone focusing on international human rights wouldn't be looking there.

dyebri

Bronze

Post by dyebri » Sat Jan 21, 2017 9:08 pm

I have no idea what the person above is talkking about. You have a solid shot at COLUMBIA, NYU, AND BERKELEY. YOU WILL DO GREAT

uion1715

New

Post by uion1715 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 9:13 pm

0L so not really here to give a solid advice, but I ran your number through LSN and saw that you have a 50/50 shot at Columbia, a pretty good shot at Chicago (Given its preference toward high-GPA applicants), and excellent shot at NYU and downward.

Not entirely sure why, but you also have a pretty good shot at Harvard given what I looked. Might be worth an app if you don't mind paying decent amount of $$$ for it, since H doesn't do merit aid.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:06 pm