Future Outlook at T-10 (based on assumptions) / beginner ?s Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
rshin30

New

Future Outlook at T-10 (based on assumptions) / beginner ?s

Post by rshin30 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 8:16 am

Hello,
I was in the process of applying to law school this past year, but ultimately decided against it.
My gpa was not where I needed it to be in order to gain acceptance into a law school that I thought would be worth while (to put it bluntly).
I graduated from a top 5 public univ for undergrad with a 3.43 gpa.

I applied to and gained acceptance into the Masters of Accounting at a top 10 business school (I will start this year/am very excited).
I plan on successfully graduating from the program, acquiring a job, and passing the CPA exam (big assumption #1).

While thinking about law school, I studied/prepped for the lsat.
I strongly believe that I would have been able to score around a 170 based on practice exam scores.
Let's say that I am able to score a 170 (big assumption #2)

I am an asian american male (currently age 23).
Hypothetically, if I am able to make assumption 1 and 2 a reality during the next 5 or so years:

a) Would I stand a decent chance at a T-10 law school? or is my lower undergrad gpa going to be too difficult to overcome?
b) How much does which undergrad you attended influence the wiggle room of accepted gpas?
c) Would being in-state help at all for a private T-10 law school? (beginner question; i know it's a private university/would be for a graduate program, so i don't know how in-state would play into all of that...assuming (#3) that I was in-state)
d) How much would the relevant work experience/leadership positions that I have earned in undergrad/this year influence my chances in 5 years? Would I even mention them at that point?
e) Would I be better off looking into MBA programs?