3.5/160 should I give UW a shot? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Alembic_of_Man

New

3.5/160 should I give UW a shot?

Post by Alembic_of_Man » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:20 pm

I've taken the LSAT twice - 155 the first time and 160 the second time. I understand this is not ideal.
The first time I was working near full time and - because of our lovely quarter system - the LSAT fell during finals.
The second time I had literally - literally - just flew in from Washington DC after an intensive 10 week internship.

I graduated with a 3.5 but packed in each quarter to the limit (and then some at times) while, as I said previously, working almost full time.

I have a long track record of volunteering and work experience, and am currently employed as well.

And last but not least, there's a chance I could qualify as a URM - even though I'm a white guy, but I'm a homosexual who has had leadership experience in the past in LGBT school groups.

Getting into the University of Washington is a dream of mine, but I know it's a stretch due to my numbers. I know if I do apply I'll need to write an addendum for my poor numbers.

I've got two questions:

1) Should I even apply?
2) Should I wait until around January to apply - in the mean time doing more community service and volunteer work to boost my application. Or should I get the application in by November 15th to try for early decision?

If I get a big fat "nay" I wouldn't be downtrodden. Seattle University is a good school as well and has that Alaska link - a bit of opportunity there, I'm sure.

Thank you for responding!

Johann

Diamond

Re: 3.5/160 should I give UW a shot?

Post by Johann » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:22 pm

where do you work now? how much do you make? why do you want to leave it?

Alembic_of_Man

New

Post by Alembic_of_Man » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:26 pm