How necessary is a "Why Duke"? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
JD2022hopeful

New

How necessary is a "Why Duke"?

Post by JD2022hopeful » Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:04 pm

Hey everyone! My Duke PT application went complete on 10/11 and I was fairly confident that I'll get in based on my stats (172/3.74) alone. After reading through TLS and Reddit, however, I am now a lot less confident in my chances because I didn't write a Why Duke. I don't think my numbers are good enough for YP, and my personal statement talks about why I want to study international law but doesn't make any mention of Duke specifically. I have average softs and I'm a year out of undergrad.

Do you think I'm going to get waitlisted just because I didn't write a Why Duke? I just didn't think I could add anything special about the school, and now I'm on day 6 and freaking out haha

sash

New

Re: How necessary is a "Why Duke"?

Post by sash » Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:43 pm

did you get a response back?

sparkytrainer

Silver

Post by sparkytrainer » Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:57 pm

It’s extremely necessary. Kids exactly in your spot numbers wise routinely get denied, not even waitlisted, purely because they did not write a why duke. Duke has one of the smaller class sizes in the t13. It matters. Applicants last year went up 22% at duke law. A why duke certainly helps and the Adcom is on record saying that applications without it are looked at differently than ones with a why duke.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Sun Oct 21, 2018 3:11 pm