Poll: My choices at this point Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.

Which seems to be the best choice?

Poll ended at Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:04 pm

Cornell @ Sticker
30%
Boston University (25K a year)
61%
Rutgers - Newark (18K a year, in-state)
9%

Total votes: 122

dakatz

Gold

Poll: My choices at this point

Post by dakatz » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:04 pm

So I've been admitted to a few schools so far, but I'm still waiting on a bunch of decisions and some scholarship information. So the landscape may change greatly between now and when I have to make my final decision. But I have 3 top choices right now, and was wondering which seems to be the best one at this point in time.

I am a New Jersey resident, and I live pretty close to Newark, so not only would tuition be mostly covered by scholarship, but my living expenses would be very low since I'd be commuting. The other 2 choices are pretty self-explanatory. I did my undergrad in Boston so I'm familiar with the city and know many people in the area. Ultimately, I would like to work in the NY/NJ area but am certainly open to staying in New England, since it is only a few hours from where my family is located.

Edit: The amounts in parenthesis are scholarship amounts per year
Last edited by dakatz on Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Blindmelon

Gold

Re: Poll: My choices at this point

Post by Blindmelon » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:10 pm

Is 25k a year the cost of BU a year or your scholly amount? I know plenty of people who took 25k/year at BU over Cornell/Northwestern/Gtown at sticker. Cornell is a stronger school, no doubt, but I'd be scared to go for full fare... I'd say BU, but I'm biased. Also, BU has a good rep. in NJ/NY and in NE. Of course for NYC, Cornell is much stronger.

Jay-Electronica

Bronze

Post by Jay-Electronica » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:14 pm

Boston all the way, dont look back

Jockin Jay-Z

Bronze