Shitty Lsat Score.. Any Advice is Appreciated Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
rocker1487

New

Shitty Lsat Score.. Any Advice is Appreciated

Post by rocker1487 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:24 pm

Hey TLSers,

Here's the deal.. I completely choked on the Dec 09 LSAT because I was nervous and extremely anxious the day before the test. Didn't get much sleep the night before, and I bombed it the next day. I scored an embarassing 144, and am retaking in Feb. I was bummed out because I studied like crazy for 4 months prior to the test and I took the testmasters course. I still have all the materials from the course which I plan on studying. Would anyone happen to have an effective study technique or perhaps a suggestion as how to best prepare? Unfortuantely, I work full time and can only dedicate 4 hours on weekdays but have weekends free. Only have a month until the next test and I was advised by a friend only to take PT's until the test and go over them. Also, I know most, if not all schools take the higher score but even with a better score, I'll be applying super late. Do you guys suggest to retake in June and not Feb? Sucks to have a 144 on my record, but oh well. I'm applying to nyc/nj schools and I know that competition is fierce. Just to put things in perspective my LSAC gpa is 3.17, degree gpa is 3.61, and i'm URM. I'd appreciate any suggestions, Thanks :)

Mr. Pablo

Bronze

Re: Shitty Lsat Score.. Any Advice is Appreciated

Post by Mr. Pablo » Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:28 pm

What were you PT'ing at?

Edit: I work full time. I studied for 2 hours on each weekday and for 4 hours on each Saturday and Sunday for 6 weeks. I used the Powerscore books. I though the LR and the LG books were useful. I nailed the RC from the get-go, so I didn't find the RC book to be all that useful.