LSAT Tips for People Who Can't Speak English Very Well Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
nicole1994

New

Re: LSAT Tips for People Who Can't Speak English Very Well

Post by nicole1994 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:12 pm

What do you think was helpful to you in learning lsat and not understanding English well. I personally feel that the lsat is a structural test, and that the toughest challenges are in understanding reasoning structure, since even people who understand English cant comprehend what the test asks of them ..
Cambridge_Songhoon wrote:Hello everyone!

I’m a new LSAT Tutor at Cambridge Coaching (https://www.cambridgecoaching.com/tutors/songhoon) and at Blueprint.

Let me begin this introduction by admitting to something that I think no other student newly admitted to Harvard Law School’s JD Program would admit to: I find English incredibly hard.
(See above for post)
Edited by tlsadmin3 to cut out repeated text

hendersonzzz

New

Post by hendersonzzz » Thu Apr 18, 2019 2:54 pm

Wow. That's a lot to respond to.
All that I know is that people who had average SAT scores can study the LSAT and do better than 99.5% of their peers. It's a very "learn-able" test. I would never have thought that to be true, but it is.

LSATWiz.com

Silver

Post by LSATWiz.com » Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:43 pm

I'd add that formal logic is particularly helpful for those who speak English as a second language because the notion of definitive, formulaic rules (e.g. "If crime x -> elements 1, 2, 3") is universal and dates back to the very first writings that have ever been unearthed, which indicates that formal logic likely predates written language. The better someone is at reducing arguments and blocks of text to their basic logical assertions, the less reliant they need to be on language.

nicole1994

New

Post by nicole1994 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:19 pm