Is Freshmen year too early to begin prep? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Bonzeye

New

Is Freshmen year too early to begin prep?

Post by Bonzeye » Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:21 pm

I am roughly halfway through my Freshmen year of college, and I'm wondering if now would be a good time to start studying. I am interested in scoring a 170+ (my target is a 173), so I understand that a lot of studying will be necessary. My diagnostic score is okay, but there's plenty of work to be done. If I studied consistently starting now, I could take the test partway through my sophomore year. This would allow me to get a year or two or work experience before the score expires. And a retake would push that time window back further, giving me more time to get work experience.

The main reason I am hoping to starting preparation "early" is because with family responsibilities, school, and work, I will never have more than 1 or 2 hours a day to put into the LSAT. Given this, it seems like starting early is the best way of getting the prep I need. However, it's my understanding that most people recommend prepping during your junior/senior year, if not much later. What do you guys recommend?

objctnyrhnr

Re: Is Freshmen year too early to begin prep?

Post by objctnyrhnr » Sat Mar 16, 2019 11:16 pm

Bonzeye wrote:I am roughly halfway through my Freshmen year of college, and I'm wondering if now would be a good time to start studying. I am interested in scoring a 170+ (my target is a 173), so I understand that a lot of studying will be necessary. My diagnostic score is okay, but there's plenty of work to be done. If I studied consistently starting now, I could take the test partway through my sophomore year. This would allow me to get a year or two or work experience before the score expires. And a retake would push that time window back further, giving me more time to get work experience.