How to deal with ART passage in RC Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
lauriewang

New

How to deal with ART passage in RC

Post by lauriewang » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:08 am

My ART passage is a disaster. Still can't find out an effective way to deal with this type of topic. Anyone can help me? Thanks a lot :cry:

Biggiesloths

New

Re: How to deal with ART passage in RC

Post by Biggiesloths » Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:34 pm

Hi Laurie,

When you say "ART passage," do you mean the passages in RC that discuss artistic topics, such as writers, music, art, literature, panting, sculptor, etc.? If yes, perhaps I could give you my two cents! These passages are my favorite, most of the time, because I studied comparative world literature in college and love reading about art history for fun.

What I hear most from people who struggle with these passages is that the "topic is so convoluted" or the authors use pedantic language and weird, long, unnecessary ways of getting to the point. While it may be true, here is what I do to get through the weeds:

1. Paraphrase. After every paragraph or chunk of sentences, I mentally sit back and ask myself to paraphrase. Re-word it. Dumb it down. I envision that someone just handed me a very long JSTOR article and asked me "what the hell is this about?" to which I would reply. I will summarize the Sparknotes version of what I just read.

2. Identify common patterns. In these "arts" passages, I've noticed that there are usually a couple things going on...
a. Comparing movements: maybe there are two different competing artistic theories. Be sensitive to differences and similarities are.
b. Identifying key figures: maybe there was a famous musician. What ABOUT this guy makes him DIFFERENT from other artists? All artists usually want to distinguish themselves from previous norms. It's all about building from the past movement or assumption.