Help diagnose what my issue might be Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
MasterOfNone

New

Help diagnose what my issue might be

Post by MasterOfNone » Sun May 13, 2018 11:18 am

Hi all! This is my first time posting but not my first time on the boards; I've been lurking off-and-on for quite some time.

Anyways, I'm currently near the end of my Testmasters LSAT prep course, and, thus far, I have seen minimal improvement in my diagnostic LSAT scores. My first (blind) score was 147; by the third diagnostic, my score increased to 152, yet my most recent diag score declined to 149. I consistently seem to be missing about 25 questions across the two LR sections and 8-10 q's on each LG and RC section. Now, my scores on LG HAVE improved, and that's probably the largest gain from my Testmasters experience: i.e., a general foundation for logic games in general. Still, there are times (like on my last PT) where I encounter an LG that just stumps me.

I don't want to give the impression that I'm not studying for the test outside of class; I'm spending virtually all of my free time prepping for the LSAT, whether by doing the Testmasters homework or just drilling, drilling, drilling questions or reviewing my past diags. I think my biggest issue is time; when I am free of time constraints, I can usually get between 80-100% of LG and RC questions correct, and between 70-80% of LR questions.

I opted not to sign up for the June LSAT (which my Testmasters class is designed for) after I showed *literally* no improvement on my second diagnostic, and, at this point, I am dubious whether I will be up for the July administration. I am by no means pushing for a score in the 170s, but I *am* aiming for something in the mid 160s. My top choice is UC irvine. In any case, it has dawned on me that I am going to be studying for this test for much longer than the three months that most prep companies seem to say is sufficient for LSAT prep.