How to speed up the RC? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Olesya_

New

How to speed up the RC?

Post by Olesya_ » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:19 pm

I have been preparing the LSAT for 10 months and have down 20+ timed pts. However, every time I cannot finish the RC. I usually use 11 minutes to finish one passage with bubbling in the answers (3.5 minutes to read the passage) and end up using 44-45 minutes to finish the four passages. So under timed condition, I can only finish 3 passages.
I usually redo the RC the day after and end up finishing four passages within 33-35 minutes.

I am quite anxious about this issue because I haven't shown any improvement in my speed during my 10 months' preparation, although every time I've tried my best to speed up. Any advice?

(In LR, I usually leave 2 questions untouched under 35 minutes and finish all the questions within 38.5 minutes. It's very stable since I start preparing for LSAT and I've made no improvement. )

damask_rain

New

Re: How to speed up the RC?

Post by damask_rain » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:24 pm

This may be a bad idea, depending on the person, but try not marking the passages at all and just read to get the big picture.

PhiladelphiaCollins

Bronze

Post by PhiladelphiaCollins » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:44 am

Try taking more time on the passage. Make sure you really understand the tone, logical structure and main point of the paragraph before moving on to the next one. If you want, scribble a 5-7 words next to the para to help you explain to you what the function of the paragraph is. Then, once you hit the questions, try to back-read as little as possible. Obviously don't do it if you have to re-read something, but try to force yourself to eliminate the first 2-3 answers based off your memory and then if you have to, go back and double check/skim to select the correct answer.