From personal experience, have you found coffee to help or hinder your performance? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
OlegPerry97

New

From personal experience, have you found coffee to help or hinder your performance?

Post by OlegPerry97 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:21 pm

I'm asking because I've found a lot of information online that says to avoid caffeine prior to the exam. I've experimented with numerous approaches to what I do before a PT, whether that be exercising or reading or a book. The only correlation I've found is that when I drink coffee, the higher my PT scores are regardless of other factors. I've found with minimal to no caffeine I have a difficult time on LR and RC because I have a tendency to hang onto every word and not read for critical elements like conditional statements or the premise-conclusion. I guess what I'm asking isn't so much relevant to the lSAT as it is myself, could this be a minor form of ADD or ADHD? I'm not an expert or knowledgable at all on the subject but how would caffeine impact a potential lSAT taker who has some form of attention deficit?

Mikey

Platinum

Re: From personal experience, have you found coffee to help or hinder your performance?

Post by Mikey » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:32 pm

I get bad headaches if I don't have coffee, so I make sure I have some earlier on before a PT.

I've taken a PT when I had no coffee and my headache from no coffee got worse because of the PT, which in turn hurt my score. So I'd say it helps me, lol.

MediocreAtBest

Silver

Re: From personal experience, have you found coffee to help or hinder your performance?

Post by MediocreAtBest » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:50 pm

If you drink coffee regularly I'm sure a lack of coffee would affect you negatively. So drink coffee.

pricon

Bronze

Post by pricon » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:51 pm

Depends: in what order is drinking coffee, starting my test, and using the bathroom? :)

creed

Bronze