Trouble with Reading Comprehension? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
rosieposie12

New

Trouble with Reading Comprehension?

Post by rosieposie12 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:14 pm

Does anyone have any tips for improving performance in the reading comp section? I've tried some of the guides posted on here, but the technique doesn't seem to be helping much. I've been doing full length PTs (realistic testing conditions and strictly timed) and consistently get -1/-2 on both LG (usually stupid mistakes) and LR, but can't seem to crack that on RC. Is it just an issue of I haven't put enough work in? I haven't noticed any pattern to the questions I get wrong either. This is really throwing me for a loop because I'm usually very good with reading comprehension. For those who really improved, what worked for you???

OakBrook2021

Bronze

Re: Trouble with Reading Comprehension?

Post by OakBrook2021 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:19 pm

I got -3 test day so I'm no expert, but the biggest tip I can give is to read for the forest and not the trees. Really try to understand the main point and don't get hung up and vague jargon or terms you've never heard before. Use the structure and main point of the passage to understand those terms in context if you need to. For me, I took very minimal notes, as that usually wastes my time and makes me read slow. It also helps to know the different passage types so you can understand what they're going to tell you by the structure of the passage. If all else fails, just really try to understand what you're reading; it's the main point of the LSAT.

Platopus

Gold

Post by Platopus » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:52 pm

Last edited by Platopus on Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LesPaul1995

Bronze

Post by LesPaul1995 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:02 pm

Platopus wrote:I went -2 RC on the June test, so take this advice for whatever it's worth.