Not improving on LR Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
paigekhuffman

New

Not improving on LR

Post by paigekhuffman » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:34 pm

I've been studying for about two months now, and I've made it through the LR Bible and have taken about 7 practice test sections (so 14 total). I still consistently miss 5-6 questions on each sections, specifically Assumptions, Point at Issue, and Parallel Reasoning. Any advice on how to improve on those question types or more effectively practice LR?

doglawin

New

Re: Not improving on LR

Post by doglawin » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi!

So I'm having the same problem as you on LR. UNfortunaly, assumptions are seemingly some of the most difficult questions on LR. Have you tried Powerscores Neccesary Condition negation approach?

It only works on assumption questions. To my understanding, With assumption questions the correct answer is the necessary condition to the conclusion. So

Conclusion(valid) --> Answer(true)

The approach says to negate the answer (the necessary condition) the answer choice that attacks or weakens the argument will be the correct answer choice. It's a different, maybe weird approach, but I've found it's helped me.

Hope that this approach is useful to you!

doglawin

New

Post by doglawin » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi!

So I'm having the same problem as you on LR. UNfortunaly, assumptions are seemingly some of the most difficult questions on LR. Have you tried Powerscores Neccesary Condition negation approach?

It only works on assumption questions. To my understanding, With assumption questions the correct answer is the necessary condition to the conclusion. So

Conclusion(valid) --> Answer(true)

The approach says to negate the answer (the necessary condition) the answer choice that attacks or weakens the argument will be the correct answer choice. It's a different, maybe weird approach, but I've found it's helped me.