September or December? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
velyvely

New

September or December?

Post by velyvely » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:45 pm

Hello,

I am trying to decide whether to register for the September LSAT, or wait and take the December one. I graduated last December, did nothing but study for a month, and came out with a 172 (February exam). I wanted to retake for a higher score, but I started working soon after and didn't feel prepared enough for the June LSAT. I then pushed it back to September, but I haven't really had time to study (a lot of unexpected OT at my job, plus the more I pushed my exam date back, the less inclined I was to study.) I'm not sure if it would be better at this point to push it back again to December - I feel like having such a long period of time makes me more complacent, but I'm also not sure if 2 months is enough to raise my score by 2~4 points while working so many hours. I'm not applying until Fall 2018, but I just really want to get the LSAT over with at this point, so it's definitely one of the two exams. I'd have to register for the September one soon, though, since a lot of the test centers near me are already full.

If anyone can give me tips on how they managed studying while working, or how they were to improve from a ~170ish score in a few months, I'd be thankful!! My GPA is below median for a lot of the T14 (a little above a 3.7), so I'd really like a higher LSAT to improve my chances of getting scholarships.

Platopus

Gold

Re: September or December?

Post by Platopus » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:03 pm

Last edited by Platopus on Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

velyvely

New

Post by velyvely » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:55 pm

Platopus wrote:
velyvely wrote:I'm not applying until Fall 2018.
December. No reason to rush the LSAT. If you got a 172 with minimal study, wait until the OT at work blows over and start studying in earnest for December.